exploring new food and photography territory: summer Squash Quiche

For some reason last week, I got it in my mind that I was going to make something with summer squash. A dish that was light, flavorful and sort of healthy. Quiche? Why not!

summer squash

After some Googling I settled on basing my recipe off of Cooking Light’s “Summer Squash, Bacon, and Mozzarella Quiche.”  I made a few modifications: used a store bought crust, added tomato slices to the top and substituted (delicious) leftover chicken for the bacon.

All day I was majorly excited to make this quiche. I can’t tell you why, but I think it was not only the cooking part but the artful and delicious expression in the whole process. I realized this while I was in the middle of cooking: Not only did I want to make dinner, but I wanted to try something new and make something I hadn’t made before (quiche), use fresh healthy seasonal veggies (summer squash), AND make something that would be attractive to photograph. I’m big on colorful meals and I’ve been trying to play around with my camera more to really get to know it.  Sometimes I feel like I should practice taking more pictures of people, but taking pictures of still lifes/food really allows me to play with settings, on my own time, all while controlling the light.  I know some people just don’t understand why people like to look at spreads of food, but to me they are inspiring. In my own pictures in this series: the bright cheery yellows, the fresh earthy bright greens, and the vibrant fiery reds. The textures of the food, the pigments and strands of the table cloth or napkin, even the place setting.  before quiche picBaked quiche cropped

I took the first picture when it was still light out while prepping. Isn’t natural light the best? The second picture was 45 minutes later after the quiche was all baked, so by then the last natural light of the evening had faded.  The light bulb apartment lighting isn’t as lovely as the natural light, but I probably took 30 pictures of the baked quiche (making good use of my cooling time before I could dig in!) I know these aren’t amazing pictures but I’m still learning 🙂

I’ve done a lot of things lately that are expressions of the things I like to do: cook, create, laugh, photograph, sing, even dance. This weekend I laughed and celebrated all weekend long: starting with celebrating my friend Megan’s birthday (who also inspires me to cook fresh delicious beautiful things!), attending Wolf Trap’s “Sound of Music” sing-a-long with friends (I was in the sound of music in high school so I LOVED this!), exercising at my favorite Xtend Barre class and finally dancing (like I haven’t in ages!) for my friend’s Steph’s bachelorette party. Talk about a lot of creative activity. I’m feeling great after this long weekend and want to keep up my creative streak. I hope you also find the things you do and love and hold on to them.

Future goals for creativity:

– Sign up for photography class (Winter session at the Alexandria art place)
– Make gnocchi
– Paint something new
– Find somewhere I can SING regularly/maybe try out for a show (eek!)

Leave a Reply

